Making Thinking Visible Chapter 2

This chapter discusses the idea that students need to interact with material rather than superficially receiving information passively and how we can actively make the thought process visible. I was really struck with the challenge to not let thinking left to chance. As teachers, we must maintain the thought process as our immediate goal before the standards. Does this reduce the importance of standards? I don’t think so. The standards provide accountability that we are providing a well rounded, balanced education. However, my prime goal when I teach is to pass on the value of a good education, the joy of learning.

My favorite quote in this chapter is, “What messages am I sending through the opportunities I create for my students about what learning is and how learning happens?” (p. 29) I model my thoughts and specific learning strategies, but how I can further model learning? The book suggests not using canned questions. It is important to listen to the students, then respond with further questions that is a true response to the student. Then students will feel safe and less likely to give an answer that predicts what the teacher wants to hear. We are also modeling active, respectful listening.

Intentional Opportunities for Thinking
So we do not move through lessons in a blind hope that the students learn, there are several suggestions to make our own and students’ thoughts more visible in order to respond effectively.
1. Questioning – Rather than using a list of essential questions, though I think this is also a valid tool, the book suggests asking questions flexibly, in response to the students, by asking your own questions that arise genuinely. The students are learning through your modeling.
2. Constructing Understanding – When I read this section, I basically think it means to use good Essential Questions – concept related questions that ask the students to analyze and synthesize information.
3. Clarifying Thinking – At my old school we called this facilitating students’ ability to explain their thinking. The more practice students have this, especially if you create a respectful community, the more interactive, collaborative learning you have as students think about what they mean and feed off of each others’ ideas. I think this is the most valuable to teaching the skills for students to succeed within a community – the ability to think, communicate thoughts, respect other viewpoints, contribute, and collaborate.

Practical Ideas
1. Provide specific praise verbalizing thinking strategies used. “I like the way you used your background knowledge to…”
2. When we…, When I read…, I was wondering (modeling own interest)
3. See/Think/Wonder (I’ve used this – like it)
4. What makes you say that? Can you explain that in a different way?
5. Sharing documentation from class discussions with peers to search for misconceptions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *