The Close and Start of a Chapter

Yesterday I packed up my many belongings from my old classroom in preparation for a new chapter.  (My husband’s witty comment, “Get a job, you have too much for our house.” – all essential items of course).   It was definitely bittersweet.  Before working at this school, I volunteered in classrooms for many years: working with small groups to help those in need of more review or giving a lesson to provide the teacher with work time.  However, the level of professionalism, compassion, and dedication within this community was inspirational.   At the district level, we were encouraged to meet the individual needs of the whole child.  I liked feeling my support system was in sync with my own views on education.  At work, I appreciated an enjoyable atmosphere that felt like home away from home.  After all, we often spend enough time in our classrooms that we can sympathize with the young boy in Miss Malarkey Doesn’t Lives in Room 10.  Who else buys extra Community Coffee for the months September and May?

Beyond the experience I gained, it is the traits and philosophy mentioned that I wish to carry with me.  I was blessed with strong mentors and new friends, often friends who weren’t even on my grade level or vertical team.  It was a positive, friendly atmosphere.  Do I feel some anxiety about beginning in a fresh environment?  Absolutely, but I enjoy change.  I’ll miss my older kiddos dropping into the classroom for a quick hello before starting their school day or stopping to share a new success.    I’ll miss afternoon get-togethers, especially at Jack Allen’s.  Yet I’ll add more adventures, more tools, more relationships, more memories.  Instead of cheers, I’ll leave with a different toast because I am moving to an area with a strong German heritage:

Genieβe das Leben ständig!  Du bist länger tot als lebendig!

“Constantly enjoy life!  You are dead longer than you are alive!”

I like it; it’s quirky and funny with a good message.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *