Empirical, Scientific, Supportive and Authentic

There’s simply too much I learned at the NSTA conference to state within 1 post, but I can give the highlights. From Betsy Rupp Fulwiler, I gained insight into training students to keep true scientific records, recording only what has been observed using concise terminology, then backing conclusions with supportive evidence. A very positive tone is used without lowering expectations. Standards are raised, increasing writing skills even as conventions are not emphasized. Students learn organization, scientific skills, science concepts, analytic skills, and communication skills. It was fascinating. Her book is Writing in Science in Action.  There are ideas which can easily be implemented even if the entire program is not utilized.  I have a friend in Connecticutt who immediately began using strategies from this program.  She plans to keep me updated on the results – I’m looking forward to this.  The conference itself was amazing.  It’s interesting how quickly connections are made with shared enthusiasm.  If I asked sincere questions about a teacher’s classroom, I could usually sit while words spilled from the other, so eager to share.

Okay, what else was learned?  Using current events to spark interest in topics.  Most of the ideas presented can be used in any subject: digital storytelling, news events, applying higher levels of Bloom’s Taxonomy, using various technological applications/websites.  I soaked it in.  Because Texas State “teaches current best practices” (It’s kind of funny when certain phrases are heard repeatedly between classes), I was able to contribute to conversations.  Go Bobcats!

It was worth the extra hours at home preparing, then catching up with daily responsibilities.  Having a room to myself at night in a hotel – Bonus!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *